# Dean's Faculty Advisory Council University of Tennessee, College of Medicine

May 6, 2024

### Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the president, Dr. Thad Wilson, at 12:05PM on May 6, 2024, in person and on the Zoom online platform.

#### Attendance

The following members were present:

Kevin Beier, MD, EM, Mark Bugnitz, MD, Mace Coday, PhD, Terry Cooper, PhD, Denis DiAngelo, PhD, Patrick Koo, MD, Khyati Kothari, MD, Chris Ledbetter, MD, F. Matthew Mihelic, MD, Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD, Lawrence Pfeffer, PhD, Crystal Pourciau, MD, Phyllis Richey, PhD, Reese Scroggs, PhD, Burt Sharp, MD, Claudette Shephard, MD, Laura Sprabery, MD, Joe Willmitch, MPAS, PA-C, Thad Wilson, PhD, Nikki Zite, MD, Paul J Koltnow, MS, MSPAS, PA-C

The following guest(s) was (were) present:

Nick Verne, MD, Alicia Diaz-Thomas, MD

## **Approval of minutes**

The minutes of the previous meeting were approved as written. Minutes had previously been distributed by electronic means.

#### **Business**

Dr. Terry Cooper, chair of DFAC's Policy Committee, presented several proposed changes to the CoM Bylaws. If DFAC endorses these changes, they will then go to the Dean, followed by the Chief Academic Officer (CAO) for informal review, after which it would be up for a vote by the faculty of the CoM, then finally toi the CAO for publication.

The first one would add a single sentence to the policy on criteria for appointment in or promotion to specific ranks. It states: All individuals who supervise UTHSC students and/or trainees must be members of the UTHSC faculty

The DFAC moved, seconded and voted, with one vote opposing and one vote abstaining, to endorse this addition to the bylaws.

The second proposed change would be an addition to Appendix C, which concerns preparation of proposal letters that nominate a faculty member for promotion or tenure. In addition to various elements such as the name of the individual, the following criterion was proposed as item "g":

A personal letter from the candidate addressed to his/her department P&T Committee/Chair/Division Chief describing past accomplishments, current and future plans and explanations or additions addressing any other items that may affect the decision by the department and/or the college.

The DFAC moved, seconded and unanimously voted, with no votes opposing or abstaining, to endorse this addition to the bylaws.

Dr. Cooper then turned to proposed bylaws governing multi-year appointments (see below). Much of the language comes from the Board of Trustees, hence cannot be changed. Each of the three sections – for newly appointed faculty, for existing faculty, and a requirement for notification – was read, viewed via screen-share, and discussed.

The DFAC moved, seconded and unanimously voted, with no votes opposing or abstaining, to endorse this addition to the bylaws.

One additional issue was discussed, as it arosed in a P&T meeting: should those who do peer review of teaching be part of the departmental vote on this person, or should they recuse themselves. That is, is there a conflict of interest and, if so, should it stand as a reason to bar that person from participating in the promotion/tenure evaluation process. DFAC expressed a consensus that serving as a teaching peer reviewer should not pose any bar to participating in P&T processes.

Pres. Wilson raised an additional question, concerning who should be DFAC's representative on the CoM's budget committee, which will offer advisory on how best to manage the CoM's newly-tightening budget. Larry Pfeffer, Phyllis Richey, and Joe Willmitch all have volunteered, and Teresa Hartnett will be invited to select from among them.

## **Next Meeting**

The next meeting of the committee will be held on **Date**, 2024, at 12:00n CT / 1pm ET by Zoom and in person in room 502, 910 Madison building.

# Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:52 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

E. Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD
Secretary

Proposed bylaw to guide multi-year appointments:

# For newly appointed faculty:

Provision of multi-year appointments for incoming faculty will follow standard non-tenure track appointment policies. The initial appointment is limited to a one-year probationary period. This can be followed by a one-, two- or three-year appointment, depending on the available funding, need of the Department and other justifying factors.

# For existing faculty:

At the time of annual APPR meetings, faculty may request a two- or three-year appointment. The chair may choose to consult with the pertinent departmental faculty prior to recommending to the dean, with justification, a two- or three-year appointment for non-tenure track faculty who have received Annual Performance and Planning Review (APPR) evaluation(s) of "meets" or "exceeds expectations for rank".

An existing faculty member may appeal a negative departmental decision to the dean or a negative decision by the dean to the Chief Academic Officer (CAO), whose decision in consultation with the Chancellor is final.

# Requirement for notification:

Discussion regarding likelihood of reappointment/non-reappointment will be undertaken at each APPR, including dates of anticipated reappointment/non-reappointment, and will be included in the chair's/division chief's summary of the review, which will be provided as usual to the faculty member.